Skip to main content


  1. Home
  2. Council

Election of Cathaoirleach and Leas Cathaoirleach of Clare County Council

26 June 2017

Fianna Fáil Councillor Tom McNamara has been unanimously elected Cathaoirleach of Clare County Council at the Annual General Meeting of Clare County Council.

Councillor McNamara, a native of Kilmaley who was first elected to Clare County Council in 2009, succeeds Cllr. Bill Chambers (Fianna Fáil) in the role.  Councillor McNamara was proposed for the role by Councillor Pat Daly (Fianna Fáil) and seconded by Councillors Paul Murphy (Fine Gael) and Christy Curtin (Independent).

Councillor Pat Burke (Fine Gael) from Whitegate was elected Leas Cathaoirleach and replaces Councillor Paul Murphy (Fine Gael) in the role.

Addressing elected members, council staff and family members and friends, Councillor McNamara said, "To be afforded the honour of representing the members of this council and the people of County Clare as Cathaoirleach means a great deal to me. I am deeply privileged and honoured to assume the role of Clare’s First Citizen".

Page last updated: 26/06/17

Back to top