Minutes of Annual General Meeting of West Clare Municipal District, held on 23rd June, 2020 at 5 p.m.in the Council Chamber, Clare County Council New Road Ennis Co. Clare

Cathaoirleach sa Cathair:

Cllr. Bill Chambers

I Láthair:

Cllr. Shane Talty, Cllr. Gabriel Keating, Cllr. Joe Killeen, , Cllr. Ian Lynch, Cllr. Cillian Murphy, Cllr. PJ Kelly Cllr. Joe Garrihy, Cllr. Roisin Garvey.

Officials present:

Mr. Leonard Cleary, Area Co-Ordinator & Director of Service Mr. John O'Malley, A/Senior Executive Officer, West Clare Municipal District Mr. Alan Kennelly, SEE, West Clare Municipal District Mr. Enda MacNamara, SEE, West Clare Municipal District Mr. John Corry, Meetings Administrator Mr. Steve Lahiffe, Senior Staff Officer

Cllr. Chambers convened the meeting and welcomed those in attendance. Prior to his stepping down as Chair, he reflected on the unique position of the West Clare Municipal District having two electoral areas and having nine members on the full council putting it in a strong position. He also noted all the work the WCMD does and in particular highlighted the great work undertaken to ensure that the Irish Open ran so successfully last year. Cllr. Chambers concluded by thanking the Executive and the Elected Members for all their endeavour & help over the last twelve months.

1. Election of Cathoirleach for 12 months.

Cllr. Joe Garrihy was proposed by Cllr. Shane Talty seconded by Cllr. Keating.

Cllr. Garrihy took the Chair. He thanked Cllr. Chambers for his work over the last twelve months and complimented him on how he carried out the role with class and dignity.

Cllr. Garrihy advised that he was looking forward to the role in these challenging times and working together strategically to overcome the difficulties.

Cllr. Garrihy was congratulated by all.

2. Election of Leas Cathoirleach for 12 months

Cllr. Cillian Murphy was proposed by Cllr. Ian Lynch and seconded by Cllr. Shane Talty.

Cllr. Murphy thanked the Members for his nomination.

3. Approval of payment of allowance to Cathoirleach of Municipal District

Cllr. Chambers proposed the motion and it was seconded by Cllr. Killeen and agreed.

4. Schedule of Meetings for the coming year

Cllr. Chambers proposed the motion and it was seconded by Cllr. Keating.

5. Any other business.

• Chain of Office -

Cllr. Lynch advised that he felt that the decision not to take a Chain of Office for the Cathaoirleach for the West Clare MD should be re-examined. Following discussion, Leonard Cleary advised that the matter would be looked at and would come back to the members on same.

• John Corry stepping down as Meetings Administrator

All members acknowledged the excellent work that John had done in his role as Meetings Administrator for the West Clare MD and in his previous role as Town Clerk of Kilrush. Leonard Cleary on behalf of the executive thanked him for the huge commitment that he showed during his 11 years, leading from the front in partnership with the elected members during period of significant change from Town Council to Municipal District.

John Corry thanked everyone for their kind words. He stated that it had been a pleasure to work with everyone and wished the Municipal District every success in the future.

• New staff introduction

Alan Kennelly, Senior Executive Engineer for Kilrush area, Enda MacNamara, Senior Executive Engineer for Ennistymon area and Steve Lahiffe, Senior Staff Officer, West Clare MD introduced themselves and were welcomed by the elected members.

Signed: Cllr. Joe Garrihy, Cathaoirleach

Signed: John O'Malley, Meetings Administrator

Dated this the 28th day of July 2020.