Skip to main content

Speed limits

Speed limits are expressed in km/hr through distinctive road signs throughout the country. These signs are found on every motorway and on major roads and minor roads throughout County Clare and consist of a circular sign with a white background and a red border. The speed limit is shown in the centre of the sign in black numerals (i.e. 30, 40, 60, etc.).

Speed limit

There are a total of five different types of speed limits throughout Ireland:

  • Town and city speed limits (50 km/h)
  • National road speed limits (100 km/h)
  • Regional and local road speed limits (80 km/h)
  • Motorway speed limits (120 km/h)
  • Special speed limits (30 km/h or 60 km/h.)

Content managed by: Roads, Environment and Water Services Department

Back to top