Skip to main content

Regulation of Lobbying Act 2015

The Regulation of Lobbying legislation is designed to provide information to the public about who is lobbying whom about what.

Section 6(4) of the Regulation of Lobbying Act 2015 requires that on commencement of the act on 1st September 2015, Clare County Council is required to publish a list showing the name, grade and brief details of the role and responsibilities of each "designated public official" of the body. The purpose of the list is:

  • To allow members of the public identify those persons who are designated public officials; and
  • As a resource for lobbyists filing a return to the register who may need to source a designated public official's details.

Designated officials under the Regulation of Lobbying Act 2015

  • Chief Executive
    Pat Dowling
    Telephone: (065) 6846209
    Department/Area: Chief Executive function for all areas.

  • Director of Service
    Alan Farrell
    Telephone: (065) 6846286
    Email: afarrell@clarecoco
    Department/Area: Physical Development (incorporating Roads/Infrastructure, Water, Environment, Fire and Major Emergency Management and Shannon Municipal District) 

  • Director of Service
    Carmel Kirby
    Telephone: (065) 6846420
    Department/Area: Economic Development (incorporating Enterprise and Employment, Planning, and Ennis Municipal District)

  • Director of Service
    Anne Haugh
    Telephone: (065) 6846429
    Department/Area: Rural Development (incorporating Rural and Community Development, Culture and Library Services, Corporate Services, and Killaloe Municipal District) 
  • Director of Service
    Leonard Cleary
    Tel: (065) 6846495
    Department/Area: Tourism Development (incorporating Tourism, Broadband and Digital, and West Clare Municipal District (West)

  • Director of Service
    Noeleen Fitzgerald
    Telephone: (065) 6846256
    Department/Area: Finance and Support Services (incorporating Finance, Human Resources, Information and Communications Technology, and Motor Tax)

  • Acting Director of Service
    Jason Murphy
    Telephone: (065) 6846528
    Department/Area: Social Development (incorporating Housing, Estate Development, Ukrainian Services, Local Authority Integration, Sports and Recreation, and West Clare Municipal District (North))

Section (6)(1)(d) of the Act provides that members of Clare County Council are regarded as designated public officials for the purposes of the act.

Further information on the Regulation of Lobbying Act 2015 is available on the Regulation of Lobbying website.

Page last reviewed: 17/01/24

Back to top