Skip to main content

Register of Electors

Clare County Council has a Rolling Register of Electors, which is continually updated.

To check if your details are listed on the Register or if you want to update your details, please visit

Who is entitled to Vote?

Any person aged 18 years of age or over is entitled to vote. To be able to vote at an Election or Referendum, your name must be on the Register of Electors.  A person must be ordinarily resident at the address they wish to be registered.  A person may register from the age of 16 upwards as a pending elector.  Once they reach the age of 18 years, they will be automatically transferred to the Rolling Register of Electors. 

Citizenship of a person determines at which elections and referenda a person may vote, as follows:

  • Irish Citizens: May vote at every election and referendum
  • British Citizens: May vote at Dáil and Local Elections only.
  • Other EU Citizens: May vote at European and Local Elections only.
  • Non-EU Citizens: May vote at Local Elections only.

Registering to Vote

If you want to register to vote or update your details, you can do so by visiting  You will need your PPSN and Eircode to apply online.  If you wish to make a paper-based application, the English and Irish version of relevant forms can be accessed via the links below.  You will need to have your form witnessed or certified if you have not provided a PPSN.

Postal Voters

The categories of persons who can register as postal voters are:

  • The Defence Forces
  • An Garda Siochana
  • Diplomats serving aboard
  • Disabled voters living at home
  • People who are unable to attend at their local polling station by reason of their occupation or education
  • Prisoners
  • Persons who are long term residents of a nursing home or similar institution can apply for inclusion on the Special Voters list
  • Anonymous Electors

Electoral Areas

The electoral divisions in each of the electoral areas are listed below. You can also view a map of the electoral areas.


Clareabbey, Doora, Ennis No. 1 Urban, Ennis No. 2 Urban, Ennis No. 3 Urban, Ennis No. 4 Urban, Ennis Rural, Kilnamona, Kilraghtis, Spancelhill and Templemaley.


Abbey, Ballagh, Ballyea, Ballyeighter, Ballysteen, Ballyvaskin, Boston, Carran, Castletown, Cloghaun, Cloonanaha, Clooney, Corrofin, Derreen, Drumcreehy, Dysert, Ennistimon, Gleninagh, Glenroe, Kilfenora, Killaspuglonane, Killilagh, Killinaboy, Kilshanny, Kiltoraght, Liscannor, Lisdoonvarna, Lurraga, Magherareagh, Milltown Malbay, Mount Elva, Moy, Muckanagh, Noughaval, Oughtmama, Rath, Rathborney, Ruan and Smithstown.


Ayle, Ballyblood, Ballynahinch, Boherglass, Caher, Caherhurly, Cahermurphy, Cappaghabaun, Carrowbaun, Castlecrine, Cloghera, Clooney, Cloontra, Cloonusker, Coolreagh, Corlea, Crusheen, Dangan, Derrynagittagh, Drummaan, Fahymore, Feakle, Glendree, Inishcaltra North, Inishcaltra South, Kilkishen, Killaloe, Killanena, Killokennedy, Killuran, Kilseily, Kiltannon, Kyle, Lackareagh, Loughea, Mountshannon, Newgrove, O'Briensbridge, Ogonnelloe, Quin, Rathclooney, Rossroe, Scarriff, Toberbreeda, Tomfinlough and Tulla.


Annagh, Ballynacally, Cahermurphy, Clondagad, Cloonadrum, Clooncoorha, Coolmeen, Cooraclare, Creegh, Doonbeg, Drumellihy, Einagh, Formoyle, Furroor, Glenmore, Kilballyowen, Kilchreest, Kilcloher, Kilfearagh, Kilfiddane, Kilkee, Killadysert, Killanniv, Killard, Killimer, Killofin, Killone, Kilmihil, Kilmurry, Kilmurry, Kilrush Rural, Kilrush Urban, Kinturk, Knock, Knocknaboley, Knocknagore, Liscasey, Lisheen, Moveen, Moyarta, Mullagh, Querrin, Rahona, Rinealon, St., Martin's, Tullig and Tullycreen.


Ballycannan, Ballyglass, Cappavilla, Clenagh, Cratloe, Drumline, Killeely, Kiltenanlea Mountievers, Newmarket, Sixmilebridge and Urlan.

Page last reviewed: 12/01/24

Back to top


Franchise section
Corporate Services Department
Clare County Council
Áras Contae an Chláir
New Road
Co. Clare
V95 DXP2

Freephone: 1800 245426
(065) 6821616
Opening hours

Phone lines

  • Open Monday – Friday 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. 
  • Closed - Saturdays, Sundays and Bank Holidays

Public counters

  • Customer Services: Open Monday – Friday 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
More details and map